CFDA Names Recipients of Two Scholarships

by MARC KARIMZADEH Wednesday April 29, 2009 WWD.com/Fashion News

NEW YORK — The Council of Fashion Designers of America has named the 2009 recipients of the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship and CFDA Scholarship, which total \$75,000.

Niloufar Mozafari, a student at Parsons The New School for Design, will receive the Geoffrey Beene Design Scholarship worth \$25,000.

Mozafari was judged by a panel of experts who were close to Beene, who died in 2004, including Geoffrey Beene senior vice president and chief operating officer Russell Nardozza; Paper Magazine editor Kim Hastreiter and designers Narciso Rodriguez, Doo-Ri Chung, Richard Lambertson and Stan Herman. The scholarship was created in 2007 with an endowment made by the Geoffrey Beene Foundation, and the winner will be officially announced at the CFDA Fashion Awards on June 15.

Mozafari is also one of the winners of this year's CFDA Scholarship. She will receive an additional \$10,000 as part of this scholarship, which will also give Yunqi Wu of the Academy of Art University in San Francisco, and Atsuko Yagi of Parsons \$10,000 each. Yagi will receive the Clara Hancox Scholarship Award for Menswear Design.

The CFDA Scholarship is also awarding \$5,000 each to Thomas Finney of Savannah College of Art and Design, Arianna Isabel Perez of the Academy of Art University and Trey Phillips and Dylan Paul Moran Taverner, both of Parsons. They were chosen by a selection committee that included Italo Zucchelli of Calvin Klein Collection, Jeff Halmos of Shipley & Halmos, Kari Sigerson of Sigerson Morrison, Gerard Yosca, Rebecca Taylor and Charlotte Neuville. The CFDA Scholarship program is in partnership with Geoffrey Beene and supported by designer Joseph Abboud.