

Future of Fashion 2010 Scholarship Winners

In New York, Concrete jungle where dreams are made of ...



The future of fashion unfolded on 42nd Street this week. The fashion industry elite gathered at Cipriani Forty Second Street in New York City to find out the winners of the 2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards. The hip-hop hit "Empire State" echoed through the capacity-packed event, as 110 fashion scholarship students from 28 fashion schools, received thunderous applause from the crowd.

There's nothing you can't do...

Mary Alice Stephenson, one of the world's most sought after fashion and style experts, introduced eight finalists, who were in the running for four \$25,000 scholarships. These students were considered the "best of the best" of the class of 2009 including Michael Lin, Becca Murrow, Kiara Walker, and Alana Abisdris. "You're all winners," Stephenson said. "We believe that you are the future of fashion."



Mary Alice Stephenson, hostess with Kyan Doughlas former groomer on Queer Eye For The Straight Guy

Now you're in New York, These streets will make you feel brand new...

The YMA Scholarship Fund, founded in 1937, is a national non-profit association consisting of influential members of the fashion community, dedicated to promoting education of the fashion arts. The organization provides scholarships to talented students, facilitates internships, mentorships and career programs.

The winners of what Kenneth Wyse, President of YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund, called the "Super Bowl of Fashion" were Ashly Juskus, Kasia Wisniewski, Lisa Cohen, and Alexandra Dumas. Stephenson gleefully announced that the four runners-up would receive an additional \$5,000.

The lights will inspire you, Let's hear it for New York, New York, New York.



The FSF also took the opportunity to honor outstanding fashion industry executives for their devotion to fashion and design. The Lifetime Achievement Award was given to Robert Mettler, former Chairman & Chief Executive Officer of Macy's West. Also honored were Margarita Arriagada, Sephora's Senior Vice President and Burlington Coat Factory's President & Chief Executive Officer Thomas Kingsbury.

2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene Awards Dinner Left to right: Kenneth L. Wyse, Robert L. Mettler, Margarita Arriagada, Thomas A. Kingsbury

http://www.ifashionnetwork.com/ifashion-designers/idesigner/25-emerging-designers/272-2010-fsf-geoffrey-beene-national-scholarship-winners-.html