DFR: DAILY FASHION REPORT

THIS BLOG IS THE MAIN NEWS PAGE OF LOOKONLINE.COM THE LONGEST RUNNING FASHION SITE ONLINE SINCE 1994.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

The 2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene Awards Dinner



(All photos Randy Brooke)

The 2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards took place last night at Cipriani Forty Second Street. During the evening there was a special red carpet and cocktail hour, dinner and awards ceremony. The Geoffrey Beene company underwrote the event in the amount of over \$500,000 as well as helping to provide funding for over 110 fashion scholarship fund students.



It really was a huge event and many in the fashion & beauty industries enthusiatically showed

their support for the cause. Tickets were \$850 each, and table sponsorships went up to \$100,000. The awards were hosted this year by contributing Harper's Bazaar's editor and freelance stylist Mary Alice Stephenson.



This year's eight Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards finalists

The YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund and The Geoffrey Beene Foundation have formed a five-year strategic alliance to further the mutual goal of expanding support for students seeking careers in the Fashion Industry. The Geoffrey Beene Foundation has donated approximately \$2.25 million, out of in excess of \$3 million, in total commitments to the Fund over the next five years.

Since the beginning of 2008, the Fashion Scholarship Fund has been granting four \$25,000 "Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards" to enterprising students majoring in fashion and related disciplines (design, merchandising, finance, marketing, retailing and liberal arts). These four \$25,000 awards (four runner-ups receive \$5000 each) are presented annually at the FSF Geoffrey Beene Scholarship Awards Dinner to the most outstanding students identified among the FSF's 28 partnering colleges and universities across the U.S.

The 2010 \$25,000 Geoffrey Beene Scholars:

ALEXANDRA DUMAS WASHINGTON UNIVERSITY IN ST. LOUIS

ASHLY JUSKUS FASHION INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGY

KASIA WISNIEWSKI PRATT INSTITUTE

LISA COHEN

UNIVERSITY OF PENNSYLVANIA, WHARTON SCHOOL

\$5,000 Finalists

ALANA ABISDRIS SYRACUSE UNIVERSITY

BECCA MURROW INDIANA UNIVERSITY

KIARA WALKER PARSONS THE NEW SCHOOL FOR DESIGN

MICHAEL LIN OTIS COLLEGE OF ART AND DESIGN

Labels: 2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards

posted by Ernest Schmatolla at 1/14/2010

http://www.lookonline.com/2010/01/2010-fsf-geoffrey-beene-awards-dinner.html