## STYLE 1 MEDIA

## 2010 FSF Geoffrey Beene Fashion Scholarship Awards Dinner



Cipriani, 110 East 42nd Street, NY, NY | 01.13.2010 | by Merry Esparza

On January 13th, Cipriani Forty Second Street was filled with the fresh young faces of tomorrow's fashion industry stars, as YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF) winners from 28 schools across the nation joined fashion industry professionals for the 2010 Geoffrey Beene Fashion Scholarship Awards Dinner. The annual awards were developed to honor members of the fashion community who have had an exceptional impact on the business of fashion and beauty

retailing, and who have shown a deep commitment to education. The 2010 awards program was introduced by FSF president. Kenneth L. Wyse, and emceed by fashion commentator, Mary Alice Stephenson (photo left, with actor Kyan Douglas).

The FSF is a national non-profit organization whose mission is to promote education in the fashion arts and business. The dinner, underwritten by Geoffrey Beene LLC, is the principal fundraiser for FSF's scholarship, mentoring, internship, and other support programs. Geoffrey Beene LLC donates 100% of net profits to philanthropic causes.

At the January 13th event, guests mingled at an opening cocktail reception, viewed a multimedia presentation, and enjoyed excellent performances by hip hop dance artist, Ernest Felton Baker II, and singer/songwriter Grace Weber. Before dinner, the four Geoffrey Beene National Scholarship Awards recipients, each of whom will receive \$25,000 towards their fashion careers, were announced. The winners were:

- Alexandra Dumas, Washington University in St. Louis
- Ashly Juskus, Fashion Institute of Technology
- Kasia Wisniewski, Pratt Institute
- Lisa Cohen, University of Pennsylvania, Wharton School

The announcement was followed by the good news that the remaining four finalists would receive \$5,000 each.

Honored at this year's FSF Dinner Gala were three leaders of industry chosen for their commitment to education and positive impact and influence on the business of fashion, beauty retail, wholesale and design. The 2010 FSF Honorees included Margarita Arriagada, Senior Vice President of Merchandising at Sephora, Thomas A. Kingsbury, President & CEO of Burlington Coat Factory and Robert L. Mettler, former Chairman & CEO Macy's West. Mettler, a noted philanthropist, was the FSF's second ever Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient. Arriagada, Kingsbury, and Mettler were each presented their honors by David Sultineau (President & CEO, Sephora USA), W. Paul Jones (CEO, Shopko), and Jeff Gennette (Chief Merchandising Officer, Macy's Inc.) respectively.

The YMA Fashion Scholarship Fund (FSF), which originated from an organization formed more than 70 years ago in the apparel and textile industry, has awarded more than \$6 million to more than 700 students since its inception in 1971. Past FSF honorees include: Zac Posen, Mindy Grossman, Sean "Diddy" Combs, Geoffrey Beene, Tom Murry, Tim Gunn, David Chu, Tommy Hilfiger, Ralph Lauren, and Kenneth Cole.



Fashion Commentator Mary Alice Stephenson.



FSF President Kenneth L. Wyse with honorees Robert L. Mettler, Mararita Arriagada, and Thomas A. Kingsbury.



Dinner Chairperson Sheri Rosenfeld of Fishman & Tobin, with FSF Executive Committe Member Michael Setola of Greg Norman.



Tommy Hilfiger President and FSF Board of Directors Member Colleen Kelly.



FSF corporate branding consultant, Michael Flutie, with scholarship finalists.



Krista Boyer, Thomas L. Wyse, and University of Florida Educator Betsy Trobaugh.



Mary Alice Stephenson and Hylon Magazine's Dani Stahl.



FSF President Kenneth L. Wyse with honorees Mararita Arriagada and Thomas A. Kingsbury.



Thomas L. Wyse with finalists, Atmosphere.

